Thursday, November 12, 2009

IBWAA Announces 2009 Awards

This summer I signed up for the Internet Baseball Writers Association of America, a group formed by Howard Cole of As the community of internet columnists and bloggers continues to expand rapidly, it is clear that these dedicated writers are just as keen about observing and analyzing the baseball scene as the mainstream members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America. The main difference is that the BBWAA members get to vote on the annual awards and the annual Hall of Fame election. The IWBAA was created in part to allow its members to partake in the fun of voting, providing an alternate voice (maybe even a consensus) to the BBWAA voters.

The IWBAA vote was conducted in the same fashion as the BBWAA vote, concluding on the final day of the regular season. Our winners are being announced this week, as outlined in the press release put out yesterday by Howard Cole, excerpts of which are included below. Our choices look right on the money, and I say this not just because the four major award winners happen to be the four I picked (I did have different choices for the Rookies of the Year).

I urge you to contact your favorite internet writers and get them to check out the IBWAA (contact information is at the bottom of the page). Being part of this group can benefit all of us, linking disparate voices in the wilderness to confirm that we really are paying close attention to the game we love.


IBWAA American League (AL) CY:

Winner: Zack Greinke (Kansas City Royals)
2nd Place: Felix Hernandez (Seattle Mariners)
3rd Place: CC Sabathia (New York Yankees)
4th Place: Justin Verlander (Detroit Tigers)
5th Place: Roy Halladay (Toronto Blue Jays)

IBWAA National League (NL) CY:

Winner: Chris Carpenter (St. Louis Cardinals)
2nd Place: Adam Wainwright (St. Louis Cardinals)
3rd Place: Tim Lincecum (San Francisco Giants)
4th Place: Josh Johnson (Florida Marlins)
5th Place: Javier Vazquez (Atlanta Braves)


Winner: Joe Mauer (Minnesota Twins)
2nd Place: Mark Teixeira (New York Yankees)
3rd Place: Derek Jeter (New York Yankees)
4th Place: Kendry Morales (Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim)
5th Place: Miguel Cabrera (Detroit Tigers)
6th Place: Zack Greinke (Kansas City Royals)
7th Place: Evan Longoria (Tampa Bay Rays)
8th Place: Ichiro Suzuki (Seattle Mariners)
9th Tie Carl Crawford (Tampa Bay Rays)
9th Tie: Kevin Youkilis (Boston Red Sox)


Winner: Albert Pujols (St. Louis Cardinals)
2nd Place: Ryan Howard (Philadelphia Phillies)
3rd Place: Hanley Ramirez (Florida Marlins)
4th Tie: Prince Fielder (Milwaukee Brewers)
4th Tie: Troy Tulowitzki (Colorado Rockies)
6th Place: Tim Lincecum (San Francisco Giants)
7th Place: Chase Utley (Philadelphia Phillies)
8th Place: Andre Ethier (Los Angeles Dodgers)
9th Place: Chris Carpenter (St. Louis Cardinals)
10th Pl: Ryan Braun (Milwaukee Brewers)

The association's Rookie of the Year (ROY), Manager of the Year (MOY), Comeback of the Year (COY) and Executive of the Year (EOY) awards were announced Monday, November 9, 2009 and Tuesday, November 10, 2009. Winners are as follows:

IBWAA AL ROY: Elvis Andrus (Texas Rangers)

IBWAA NL ROY: Tommy Hanson (Atlanta Braves)

IBWAA AL MOY: Ron Gardenhire (Minnesota Twins)

IBWAA NL MOY: Jim Tracy (Colorado Rockies)

IBWAA AL COY: Aaron Hill (Toronto Blue Jays)

IBWAA NL COY: Chris Carpenter (St. Louis Cardinals)

IBWAA AL EOY: Brian Cashman (New York Yankees)

IBWAA NL EOY: Dan O'Dowd (Colorado Rockies)

The IBWAA was created in July 4, 2009 by Howard Cole, editor of, to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as an alternative voice to the Base Ball Writers Association of America (BBWAA).

Association memberships are open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a yearly fee of $20. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available.

For more information on the IBWAA, please visit the temporary webpage here, In the coming months, the IBWAA can be found at

Howard Cole, Acting Director,

No comments: